Laura A. Diaz ____ Teach Write

TEACHER, AUTHOR, EDUblogger "I want to (read and) write books that unblock the traffic jam in everyone's mind." ~J. Updike

“Fakebook”: Ideas and how to use this technology to engage students


“Fakebook” allows teachers and students to create imaginary online profile pages for study purposes.

You can click this link to navigate to the application: http://www.classtools.net/FB/home-page

Use “Fakebook” to chart the plot of a book, the development of a character, a series of historical events, the debates and relationships between people, and so on!  The possibilities are practically endless and what the students use them for completely based off of your own personal rubric for the assignment.  It can be used as an ongoing novel-reading assessment/journal that finally cumulates to be an end of unit project.

Get started by entering a name at the top of the “Fakebook” page. Then proceed to add friends, posts, comments and profile information.

You can save your work and edit it again later.

Watch this short student tutorial:

Here is the link to a “Fakebook” Profile Page I created as a student example for the novel “Divergent” by Veronica Roth: http://www.classtools.net/FB/1879-BM95bY

Check out the  rubric & checklist examples to make sure you have completed your project completely:

fbprofilerubric

Project has the following from the book:

____ Title and author

____ Main Character-only those that are important to the story line

____ Setting-place and time of story

____ Plot Summary-brief summary (not a retelling) of the story

____Student made connections- /status reflections, see                               example (text-to-text, text-to-self, text-to-world)

____Project follows directions from the guidelines.

____Thoroughness of Written Information

____Project captures the most important information.

____Project captures the concept/point the author made in the book.

____Interest Evoked

____Project demonstrates student’s ability.

____Project encourages others to read the book.

____Project attracts others and makes them interested in the work.

____ Images used show creativity and imagination. At least 3(three) important scenes from the book are represented with an image and the caption explains/ tags the image.


* I ALWAYS have student friendly rubrics and checklists available for students so that they know exactly what my expectations are  to ensure no surprises and learning mastery success. I also find it helpful to include a section on their handout that basically reads:

I have worked and put my best effort into this Final Novel Project and I am proud to turn in my final product.

I did not put forth my best effort on this Novel Project because______________________________________

____________________________________________

Student Signature________________________Date__________


 

What this does is add a little accountability to the project and facilitates ownership of both grade and project work.

For example:  Guide Project Directions & Student Checklist

I do something similar for  Homework assignments. You can check out my template for this here:

Mrs. Diaz Homework Pink Slip Template

A template I made for students to have accountability and ownership for homework that is not turned in on time. It also serves as documentation should a parent ask me why their student is missing certain assignments in the grade book (idea sparked from Harry Wong’s book).

Enjoy!

cool teacher

2 comments on ““Fakebook”: Ideas and how to use this technology to engage students

  1. Rebeka
    March 7, 2015

    Hi there,
    What a cool idea this is. I am a homeschool mom of 5 in California and always looking for ideas to facilitate a deeper-think ( what I call it) on what we are learning. I see so many ways I can use this.So many ideas! It’s like my brain has fireworks shooting out of my head now! I know you probably didn’t write this specifically for homeschoolers but thank you for your down to earth writing “voice.” Your posts always make me feel like your just a friend of mine sharing ideas and thoughts. Thanks. God bless you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Laura A. Diaz
      March 13, 2015

      Rebekah,
      thank you so much for your kind words. Many people don’t know this, but before I pursued my Masters in Teaching I homeschooled my own kids until my oldest was in the 6th grade. I then worked as a Title I Instructional Paraprofessional for 10 years before earning certification to teach MIddle Grades 4-9/ Language Arts and Social Science. There are many days that I miss homeschooling. I am very proud of you for what you are doing for your family. I know full well that it is a challenge! ( Yet, oh what a blessing!) Let me know if there is anything ( topic/technology/family life/whatever) 🙂 that you would like me to write about. Thanks for keeping me on my toes.

      Blessings and best wishes,
      Laura

      Like

Leave a Reply

Follow Laura A. Diaz ____ Teach Write on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,560 other followers

