Laura A. Diaz ____ Teach Write

TEACHER, AUTHOR, EDUblogger "I want to (read and) write books that unblock the traffic jam in everyone's mind." ~J. Updike

How to Build Your Fictional World~ Another TED Ed Flipped Lesson


How to build a fictional world –

Kate Messner

LESSON CREATED BY LAURA DIAZ

VIDEO FROM TED-Ed YOUTUBE CHANNEL

Let’s Begin…

edu_listed_dir

Why is J.R.R. Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings trilogy so compelling? How about The Matrix or Harry Potter? What makes these disparate worlds come alive are clear, consistent rules for how people, societies — and even the laws of physics — function in these fictional universes. Author Kate Messner offers a few tricks for you, too, to create a world worth exploring in your own words.

After watching the above link go ahead and follow this LINK, yes this LINK, to view the full TED ED flipped lesson I created complete with end of lesson quiz and closing discussion question.  Leave me a comment here and tell me what you think!

Happy teaching! 🙂

19 comments on “How to Build Your Fictional World~ Another TED Ed Flipped Lesson

  1. Donna
    August 6, 2015

    😀

    Like

  2. Toni
    April 5, 2015

    Thanks! I needed this.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Homepage.ED

  4. Ms.V.L.
    November 13, 2014

    Like this, continue on!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Clare Bear
    November 5, 2014

    You share interesting things here. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. CourtneyS.
    November 2, 2014

    Hi there! I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking back frequently!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Sonia_S.
    October 2, 2014

    First off I want to say great blog! I had a quick question which I’d like to ask if you don’t mind.I’m trying to get my own blog off the ground but I am finding that I have had difficulty clearing my mind and getting my ideas out there. I truly do take pleasure in writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are generally ost simply just trying to figure out how to begin. Any ideas or tips? Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. F.Mahoney
    July 6, 2014
  9. jazzi
    June 9, 2014

    love love love 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Vanessa
    June 9, 2014

    Great stuff and interesting format. I love TED talks.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Michael Mendoza
    May 27, 2014

    This post could not be written any better! Going through this article really got the wheels turning and gave me some great ideas for my own classroom. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Kay D.
    May 26, 2014

    These are in fact wonderful ideas not only for a teacher in the classroom, but this one resonates with me as a hopeful writer myself.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Eric
    May 26, 2014

    Loved this! Definitely worth checking out the resr of your articles now. I’ll be back,(as Arnold says). 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Helen B.
    May 25, 2014

    Great information and presented in a fun way. Good job.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Pamela Espinoza
    May 24, 2014

    Do you mind if I quote a few of your articles as long as I provide credit and sources back to your site? My blog site is in the very same area of interest as yours and my readers would really benefit from a lot of the information you provide here. Please let me know if this okay with you. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Cliff
    May 24, 2014

    Good info. Lucky mе I came acroѕs ʏouг site Ьy
    accident (stumbleupon) І book-marked іt for later!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Wendy
    May 23, 2014

    Excellent article. Keep writing such kind of information on your site. Im really impressed by your blog.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Michelle Rene
    April 14, 2014

    Reblogged this on Write Here Write Now.

    Like

  19. Julian M.
    March 14, 2014

    very good! congratulations.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

