Laura A. Diaz ____ Teach Write

TEACHER, AUTHOR, EDUblogger "I want to (read and) write books that unblock the traffic jam in everyone's mind." ~J. Updike

Why don’t you speak Spanish?


“My SIL, a Puerto Rican, works in a medical clinic that caters largely to spanish speakers. She went on a rant one day about a guy named “Juan Sanchez.”

Apparently when she called his name, she proceeded to greet him in spanish and the guy was like, “Uhh, I don’t speak spanish.”

She went on about how can you have a name like Juan Sanchez and not speak any spanish at all. Um, well, maybe only his father was latino and he grew up with his monolingual American mother.

Maybe like me, he is of some other mixed ancestry including latino and ended up with the name but the language was lost somewhere down the line. My husband, her brother, has an entirely French name but does not speak French. That’s the same thing! Or maybe the guy’s parents just didn’t see the point?

I don’t know…and the point here is neither do you. So why be all judging and weird about it. If you’re so concerned, teach him spanish! ”

Please follow this talented blogger by clicking the links above and explore the many insightful posts.


Happy Reading! 🙂

drops of lluvia

You know what I hate? Latinos that say, “I hate when I meet a latino that doesn’t speak spanish!”

Why? If they were born in the states and their parents speak english, it’s not their fault their parents didn’t teach them spanish. If you just have to be mad at someone, be mad at their parents instead of being an ass to the person that didn’t learn spanish as a kid. Don’t get me wrong, I definitely think it’s detrimental to not know the language. Hell, my almost-2 yr old is bilingual, but hey, anyone else is not really my problem or my business.

My SIL, a Puerto Rican, works in a medical clinic that caters largely to spanish speakers. She went on a rant one day about a guy named “Juan Sanchez.” Apparently when she called his name, she proceeded to greet him in spanish and the guy was…

View original post 124 more words

Leave a Reply

Follow Laura A. Diaz ____ Teach Write on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,558 other followers

