Laura A. Diaz ……………………………Teach Write

TEACHER, AUTHOR, EDUblogger "I want to (read and) write books that unblock the traffic jam in everyone's mind." ~J. Updike

Stubbornly Speaking Spanish


Checala another awesome writer I happened to stumble on the other day. Her posts are both informative and humorous.
Happy reading!🙂

Latinaish

As most of you know, we’re trying to raise our boys to be English/Spanish bilingual. This is not an easy task for anyone, but even more challenging for me for a number of reasons.

#1. I’m not a native Spanish speaker and I still make mistakes.

#2. My husband, Carlos, only recently got “on board” with speaking Spanish to the kids. (He still isn’t consistent.)

#3. I wasn’t confident enough in my Spanish to speak it much to the boys when they were babies, so many lost opportunities there.

#4. We are not able to send the boys to a dual immersion school and we can’t afford to visit El Salvador often enough.

#5. We do not live in a community with a large Spanish-speaking population, nor are we surrounded by Spanish-speaking family.

Even with the odds stacked against us, I’ve been determined to raise the boys bilingual and I…

View original post 274 more words

Leave a Reply

Follow Laura A. Diaz ……………………………Teach Write on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,993 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,993 other followers

