Laura A. Diaz ____ Teach Write

TEACHER, AUTHOR, EDUblogger "I want to (read and) write books that unblock the traffic jam in everyone's mind." ~J. Updike

The Hand of Refuge~ by Anthony Carter


Writing outside the box and with awesome skills, I give you Anthony Carter and his book Hand Of God.

THE HAND OF GOD ~ BY ANTHONY CARTER

God doesn’t always do the expected. In fact, it is usually quite the opposite.

 When newspaper editor, Cassandra “Cass” O’Neal, gets the opportunity to write her first article she is over-the-moon excited. Her story is on a local homeless shelter and how they help get people back on their feet. On her first visit she meets some of the residents and thinks that she’s got her story, then she meets the mysterious man that lives on the grounds. His name is Doc and he is something of an enigma. After her first interaction with him, her original reason for going to the shelter becomes something else, entirely. Cass and Doc will embark on a journey that will change both of their lives.

This is a story about how God changes things, sometimes, in the most unexpected ways.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

CHRISTIAN AUTHOR
ANTHONY CARTER

I’m 30 years old and happily married to an amazing woman! Recently, I learned that I like to paint. On the walls. Next time I might try canvas. Although, the wall worked just as well. This is my first completed novel.

I may have written about an editor/journalist but my keyboards comma does not work sometimes…or, too often (joke based on something in The Hand of Refuge). So, I appreciate feedback and thoughts.

Thanks to everyone who has commented, read and backed the book thus far; and to all who may find it enjoyable and decide to in the future.

Author’s favorite books:

Tom Sawyer and Huck Finn by Mark Twain
The Ragamuffin Gospel by Brennan Manning
The Shack by William P. Young
The Screwtape Letters and Chronicles of Narnia Series by C.S. Lewis
The Message Remix by Eugene Peterson
On Bear Mountain by Deborah Smith (yeah, somebody’s punching my man-card LOL).
TNIV Study Bible for Men

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Reviews

As I got into chapter 3 your book picked up a great momentum and didn’t stop, the plot exploded nicely, and foiled my ideas of what I thought would happen! …excellent writing skills that make your reader feel the emotions well done. Meeting Doc was fun, and a bit of a red herring at first! and still little bits of the plot just tease out enough information that keeps the reader wanting to turn the page. I started to get a bit worried when some of the paranormal stuff came in, I think I spook easily, but so far you have told it well without it seeming too sinister or scary. I don’t want to say too much else and spoil the story for other readers and I do recommend this book – it is nicely written and paced. Once again Anthony, very well done, this is a smooth read. High stars and on my watchlist. I will return to read more as i am intrigued to know what is going to follow!!!~ Little Miggy, Avid Reader

I just read your first chapter, and I’m hooked! What suspense and intrigue you have created in such a short time! This story has the feeling of ‘The Shack’ all over it, which is a very high compliment as it was one of my all time favorites.

I love the characterization of Cass and Hal; you have drawn them very well with just the right amount of detail. The dialogue is very well done also. I really love the backstory about the wreck at the end of chapter one. My interest is fully piqued! I am showering you with many stars… Faith Rose, Now To Him

Wonderful book! Flawlessly written. Immensely entertaining. Great characters and dialogue and nicely paced plot.

I was so engrossed in your story that I didn’t realize I had come to the end of your uploaded chapters. This book should not be limited to the Christian genre. I’m a Christian and an avid reader and this story ranks right up there with the very best mystery novels already published. I will buy this one as soon as it’s published!

You do this a bit like C.S. Lewis: his novels are up there with the very best of classical literature yet he also weaves in his Christian beliefs. Your book is right up there with the very best published mysteries and I hope, indeed, to see it take its side alongside other famous mysteries. Awesome work.~ Patricia A. Johnson-Laster, Break Free!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Check his work out @drop  him a line:

http://authonomy.com/books/45706/the-hand-of-refuge/

“There are two kinds of writer: those that make you think, and those that make you wonder.”~Brian Aldiss

4 comments on “The Hand of Refuge~ by Anthony Carter

  1. anthonycarter4j2
    October 22, 2014

    Reblogged this on anthonycarter4j2 and commented:
    What a great review!

    Like

  2. Anthony Carter
    March 14, 2014

    Thank you, Laura! This was a long road and you had faith in my story before I found an interested publisher!
    https://www.tatepublishing.com/bookstore/book.php?w=9781627468510

    Like

  3. Laura A. Diaz
    May 20, 2013

    Reblogged this on Laura A. Diaz ~ Books and Beyond and commented:

    God doesn’t always do the expected. In fact, it is usually quite the opposite.

    When newspaper editor, Cassandra “Cass” O’Neal, gets the opportunity to write her first article she is over-the-moon excited. Her story is on a local homeless shelter and how they help get people back on their feet. On her first visit she meets some of the residents and thinks that she’s got her story, then she meets the mysterious man that lives on the grounds. His name is Doc and he is something of an enigma. After her first interaction with him, her original reason for going to the shelter becomes something else, entirely. Cass and Doc will embark on a journey that will change both of their lives.
    This is a story about how God changes things, sometimes, in the most unexpected ways.

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Click the above link to read more of this review…

    Like

  4. Griqon.o
    July 28, 2012

    I’ll be sharing this with a couple of close friends who could be thinking about this. You’d be shocked how a lot of people are looking for something like this. Thanks for posting this for us.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Follow Laura A. Diaz ____ Teach Write on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,557 other followers

