Laura A. Diaz ____ Teach Write

TEACHER, AUTHOR, EDUblogger "I want to (read and) write books that unblock the traffic jam in everyone's mind." ~J. Updike

Twink~ by H. Kaeppel


 

H. Kaeppel has managed to write a YA Christian book that tastes of reality yet is uplifting and           entertaining.

Check it out at :

http://authonomy.com/books/42279/twink/

 

 

LuAnn’s shyness is debilitating. Maybe Lloyd can help. But he has his own weaknesses and insecurities.

Big-man-on-campus Lloyd studies hard but battles learning disabilities. Reclusive LuAnn takes a job tutoring him, but being in the presence of such social accomplishment rattles her. Already a smoker, LuAnn reverts to a vice from her early adolescence, to dull the pain of the chain of defeating thoughts kicked off by the tutoring sessions. As a brother in a prominent fraternity, Lloyd is unaccustomed to social awkwardness. Intrigued, he’s compelled to get to know and hopefully help LuAnn. His efforts are rewarded slowly. Friendship grows. But, friendship doesn’t solve their problems. Lloyd gets failing grades anyway. A car accident shows he’s able to hurt more than help. He abandons school. Independently each finds Christ. Years later, their new lives intersect.

 

Here are a few reviews:
I lost myself in this interesting tale of yours. The characters and their stories pulled me in instantly. I really sunk in at Chapter 5. I felt Luann was more of an interesting character than Lloyd, but I loved how the strands of the story revealed itself so slowly. I feel like this book was written in another time. Gripping, poignant, and heartfelt…please let me know when you post more. I want to know happens to Lloyd and LuAnn.
Thanks for sharing.~ Christian Rogue, Beastia

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This story is obviously character driven and you have done such a remarkable job portraying the inner struggles of each of your main players. Their insecurities are dealt with in a sensitive and informed manner. I found myself empathizing with both Lloyd and Luann and hoping that they would find friendship in one another, and like your pitch points to, find their significance in Jesus.

Although self-inflicted pain has been written about a lot, your book is not like the rest. I found it positive and hopeful, especially in light of the cheerleader type character that Lloyd seems to embody so well. Even though Lloyd and LuAnn don’t realize it at the time they are the example of the church – people helping people grow.

You are a very talented writer and I truly believe that (this) will do well… in the commercial Christian market… If I came upon this in a bookstore, I’d buy it.~Dianna Lanser, Nothing But The Blood 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

Check the the writing from this new and talented author for yourself and tell me what you think.

 

“I like nonsense, it wakes up the brain cells. Fantasy is a necessary ingredient in living.”
― Dr. Seuss

Leave a Reply

